Skip to content Skip to navigation

Neutrino 'flip' wins physics Nobel Prize

Crucial measurements were made at the Super-Kamiokande neutrino detector in Japan

Oct 6 2015
Awards, Blog
Takaaki Kajita and Arthur McDonald led two teams which made key observations of the particles inside big underground instruments in Japan and Canada.
They were named on Tuesday morning at a news conference in Stockholm, Sweden.
Goran Hansson, secretary general of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, which decides on the award, declared: "This year's prize is about changes of identity among some of the most abundant inhabitants of the Universe."